Sheffield City Council management teams

Our Executive Management Team (EMT) comprises the Chief Executive, Executive Directors and the Directors of Public Health and Policy, Performance and Communications, and provides strategic direction.

It deals with key corporate issues and strategic service issues. It makes decisions, formulates recommendations for the political leadership, and gives a steer on policy issues where this is necessary.

EMT can make managerial decisions on how we operate or on the application of policy that has already been politically agreed, but not set new policy which is the role of elected members.

Chief Executive, Kate Josephs


People Portfolio

Executive Director of People Portfolio

John Macilwraith

Telephone: 0114 273 5726

Director of Education and Skills

Andrew Jones

Email: 07791 550826

Director of Adult Health and Social Care

Alexis Chappell

Telephone: 0114 273 6622

Director of Children and Families

Carly Speechley

Email: 0114 273 4913

Director of Communities

Dawn Shaw

Email: 0114 273 4486

Director of Commissioning

Joe Horobin


Operational Services Portfolio

Executive Director of Operational Services Portfolio

Ajman Ali


Director of Streetscene and Regulation

Richard Eyre

Telephone: 0114 273 4300

Director of Direct Services

Tom Smith - from 16 May


Director of Leisure, Parks and Libraries

Lisa Firth

Telephone: 0114 273 5071

Director of Housing

Janet Sharpe

Telephone: 0114 273 5493

City Futures Portfolio

Executive Director of City Futures Portfolio

Kate Martin

Email: 0114 273 5167

Director of Economic Development and Culture

Diana Buckley


Director of Regeneration and Development


Director of Investment, Climate Change and Planning

William Stewart

Resources Portfolio

Executive Director of Resources Portfolio

Eugene Walker (Gill Duckworth and James Henderson interim)

Telephone: 0114 273 5167

    Director of Business Change and Information Solutions

    Mike Weston (interim)


    Director of Finance and Commercial Services

    Ryan Keyworth

    Telephone: 0114 205 7303

    Director of HR and Customer Services

    Mark Bennett

    Telephone: 0114 273 4081

      Director of Legal and Governance

      Gillian Duckworth
      Telephone: 0114 273 4018

        Policy, Performance and Communications

        Director of Policy, Performance and Communications

        James Henderson

        Email: 0114 205 3126

        Public Health

        Director of Public Health

        Greg Fell

        Telephone: 0114 205 7462

        Contact Customer Services

        1 Union Street
        Howden House
        S1 2SH
        0114 273 4567
        Monday to Friday
        8am to 6pm

        Is this page helpful?

        Is this page helpful?