Sheffield Children’s Book Award

Sheffield Children’s Book Award was launched in 1988 to encourage children and young people to read, and to highlight the best literature published each year. The awards celebrate books and what they do for the Sheffield Community. Hundreds of children from across the city take part every year by voting for their favourite book through local schools and libraries.

The Sheffield Children’s Book Award Shortlist for 2023

We are delighted to announce this year’s shortlist.  All the books are available in our community libraries for you to read and then vote for your favourite title.

Baby Books Category

Hello, Frog by Isobel Otter and illustrated by Sophie Ledesma, published by Little Tiger.

Snap! Snap! I’m a Crocodile by Jo Lodge, published by Boxer Books.

Tatty Mouse, Rock Star by Hilary Robinson and illustrated by Mandy Stanley, published by New Frontier Publishing.

Toddler Books Category

Ruffles and the new green thing by David Melling, published by Nosy Crow.

Puddling!  By Emma Perry and illustrated by Clare Alexander, published by Walker Books.

The Smile by Marie Voight, published by Oxford.

Picture Books Category

One Camel Called Doug by Lu Fraser and illustrated by Sarah Warburton, published by Simon and Schuster.

The Huddle by Sean Julian, published by Oxford.

Who Will Kiss the Crocodile by Suzy Senior and illustrated by Claire Powell, published by Little Tiger.

Emerging Reads Category

The Secret School Invasion by Pamela Butchart and illustrated by Thomas Flintham, published by Nosy Crow.

The Wobbly Life of Scarlett Fife by Maz Evans and illustrated by Chris Jevons, published by Hodder.

Trixie Pickle Art Avenger by Olaf Falafel, published by Puffin.

Shorter Novels Category

Wilder Than Midnight by Cerrie Burnell and illustrated by Sophia Watts, published by Puffin.

The Little Match Girl Strikes Back by Emma Carroll and illustrated by Lauren Childs, published by Simon and Schuster.

Loki A Bad God’s Guide to Being Good by Louie Stowell, published by Walker Books.

Longer Novels Category

Running Out of Time by Simon Fox, published by Nosy Crow.

Leila and the Blue Fox by Kiran Millwood Hargrave and illustrated by Tom de Freston, published by Orion.

Tyger by S F Said and illustrated by Dave McKean, published by David Fickling Books.

Young Adult Category

The Stranded by Sarah Daniels, published by Penguin.

The Bones of Me by Kel Duckhouse, published by Flying Eye Books.

The Butterfly Assassin by Finn Longman. Published by Simon and Schuster.

Previous overall winners
  • 2022 – The Crossing by Manjeet Mann. Published by Penguin

  • 2021 – Super Happy Magic Forest and the Humungous Fungus by Matty Lee. Published by Oxford University Press

  • 2020 - Show and Tell by Rob Biddulph. Published by Harper Collins

  • 2019 - The Boy at the Back of the Class by Onjali Q. Raúf, published by Orion

  • 2018 - We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan
  • 2017 - Nibbles the Book Monster by Emma Yarlett
  • 2016 - Uncle Gobb and the Dread Shed by Michael Rosen
  • 2015 - A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson
  • 2014 - Spider Sandwiches by Claire Freedman and illustrated by Sue Hendra
  • 2013 - Everything's Amazing (Sort Of) by Liz Pichon
  • 2012 - Agatha Parrot and the Floating Head by Kjartan Poskitt and illustrated by David Tazzyman
  • 2011 - The Pig's Knickers by Jonathon Emmett and illustrated by Vanessa Cabban
  • 2010 - Morris the Mankiest Monster by Giles Andreae and illustrated by Sarah McIntyre

Contact Libraries Team

Want to talk to someone right now?

Is this page helpful?

Is this page helpful?