• Sheffield Children’s Book Awards were launched in 1988 to encourage children and young people to read – and to highlight the best literature published each year
  • the awards celebrate books and what they do for the Sheffield community
  • hundreds of babies from across the city take part every year – they can vote for their favourite book through local schools and libraries

Overall winner

The Sheffield Children’s Book Award 2016 has been won by Michael Rosen for his book ‘Uncle Gobb and the Dread Shed’.

Baby book category winners

Picture Book Category Winner:
‘The Zoomers Handbook’ by Ana and Thiago De Moraes

Shorter and Longer Category Winner:
‘Uncle Gobb and the Dread Shed’ by Michael Rosen, illustrated by Neal Layton

Young Adult Category Winner:
‘One’ by Sarah Crossan

Celebrity Author Category Winner:
‘The Bolds’ by Julian Clary, illustrated by David Roberts

2015 shortlist

  • A Recipe for Bedtime by Peter Bently & Sarah Massini
  • Alphaprints 1 2 3 Created by Jo Ryan & Sarah Powell
  • Can You Say it Too? Woof! Woof! By Sebastien Braun
  • Found by Selina Yoon
  • Bob and Flo, The Missing Bucket by Rebecca Ashdown
  • The Queen’s Hat by Steve Anthony

Previous winners

  • 2014 - Icky Sticky Monster by Jo Lodge
  • 2013 - Fish Food by Andy Mansfield & Henning Lohlein
  • 2012 - Lulu’s Lunch by Camilla Reid
  • 2011 - Noisy Peekaboo! Roar! Roar! by Dorling Kindersley
  • 2010 - My Giant Fold Out Book of Animals published by Priddy Books
  • 2009 - You’re Not So Scary, Sid! by Sam Lloyd published by Templar
  • 2008 - Noisy Animals, Words by Felicity Brooks, illustrated by Stephen Cartwright, designed by Matthew Durber, published by Usborne