Parliamentary Boundary Review Proposals

The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) is an independent and impartial non departmental public body which is responsible for reviewing Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England.

The 2023 review

The BCE have the task of periodically reviewing the boundaries of all the Parliamentary constituencies in England. They are currently conducting a review under the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 2020.

Thus Act means that the total number of constituencies remains at 650, but the number in England will increase. Sheffield will still have 6 constituencies under these proposals, with some changes to their boundaries. The review must ensure that each constituency in the UK (apart from five specified exceptions) must have an electorate that is no smaller than 69,724 and no larger than 77,062 based on electorate totals as at 2 March 2020. 

The BCE will make its final proposals by 1 July 2023.

Initial proposals

The BCE published their initial proposals for the new Parliamentary constituency boundaries in England on 8 June. These proposals are currently out for consultation.

Proposed changes for Sheffield

Yorkshire and the Humber has been allocated 54 constituencies, which is the same as now. 

As it has not always been possible to allocate whole numbers of constituencies to individual councils, they have grouped some county and council areas into sub regions. Sheffield has been included as part of the Humberside and South Yorkshire sub-region. Sheffield’s constituency boundaries will align with the City Council ward boundaries, with the sole exception of Richmond ward, which will be split between Sheffield Heeley and Sheffield South East.

You can read more about the proposals on the BCE's website.

Contact Electoral Services

Town Hall
Pinstone Street
S1 2HH

Want to talk to someone right now?

Is this page helpful?

Is this page helpful?