Skip to content

Electoral Review (ward boundary) of Sheffield

We have recently been the subject of an electoral review which was out the by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England between August 2013 and March 2015.

The Commission carried out an electoral review of ourselves to deliver electoral equality for voters in local elections.

The aim of the review was to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of electors.

Prior to the review, some councillors represent many more, or fewer, electors than other elected members elsewhere in the city which means the value of your vote varies depending on where you live in Sheffield.

The review aimed to ensure that each Sheffield city councillor represents roughly the same number of voters and that ward boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities.

The review covered the whole authority, with potential changes to all City Council wards.

The review concerned the internal ward boundaries only and cannot make any amendments to the local authority boundaries with neighbouring authorities.

The Commission carried out the review in two stages:

  • The size of the Council (i.e. the number of councillors)
  • The boundaries and names of electoral wards


Recommendations of the electoral review

The Commission has made final recommendations which have been laid before Parliament.

They have recommended that the Council should continue to be made up of 84 councillors, and 28 wards.

Most wards keep their name and much of their current electorate, but a small number of wards have significant differences.

The most changed wards are the:

  • new City ward (comprised of part of the current Central ward)
  • Nether Edge and Sharrow (comprised of most of the Sharrow part of the current Central ward and much of the current Nether Edge ward)
  • Ecclesall (which takes on the Carter Knowle area of the current Nether Edge ward, and loses part of the rural south west of the city to Fulwood and Dore and Totley)
  • Broomhill and Sharrow Vale ( which includes much of the current Broomhill, also including Sharrow Vale and Broomhall)

There are a number of wards with smaller changes, and 8 wards whose boundaries remain unchanged:

  • Arbourthorne, which changes its name to Park and Arbourthorne
  • East Ecclesfield
  • Manor Castle
  • Mosborough
  • Shiregreen and Brightside
  • Stannington
  • Stocksbridge and Upper Don
  • West Ecclesfield

View the proposed boundaries.


Next steps

The recommendations are expected to become law in late October or early November 2015.

There will be a polling district review which will take place once the recommendations become law.

The boundaries will come into effect at the May 2016 election.

At this election, all councillors will stand for election, with the council returning to the usual practice of electing by thirds following this election. The timetable for elections is below:

  • May 2016 – all out elections. Each elector votes for 3 candidates from a single list of candidates for their ward
  • 2017 – No elections
  • May 2018: the councillor in each ward who polled the smallest number of votes in 2016 stands for re-election
  • May 2019: the councillor in each ward who polled the middle number of votes in 2016 stands for re-election
  • May 2020: the councillor in each ward who polled the highest number of votes in 2016 stands for re-election


Further information

More about the review (Local Government Boundary Commission for England).

For further information, please contact or 0114 2734093.

  • Modified: Oct 12, 2015 12:15:51 PM