Skip to content

Emergency Planning Committee

Meeting dates, agendas, minutes and reports

Meeting dates and the agendas, minutes and reports of the Joint Committee are available from Rotherham Council.



  • Councillor Denise Lelliott (Rotherham)
  • Councillor Kath Sims (Rotherham)
  • Councillor Bryan Lodge (Sheffield)
  • Councillor Jack Scott (Sheffield)



The Emergency Planning Shared Service is a partnership between ourselves and Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council.

The service provides Business Continuity and Emergency Planning services for both councils.

An Emergency Planning Joint Committee oversees the shared service and makes sure both councils carry out their duties as Category 1 responders (as described by the Civil Contingencies Act 2004).

The Joint Committee consists of Elected Members (Councillors) from the 2 councils, supported by advisors, officers and other interested parties, as and when required.

The Chair of the Joint Committee rotates between Rotherham and Sheffield Elected Members on an annual basis.

The Joint Committee will meet up to four times per year to ensure it carries out its responsibilities as described above and the number of meetings will depend on the business to be discussed. Additional extraordinary meetings may be called if necessary.


Responsibilities of the Committee

  • Ensure the shared service discharges its functions in line with the formal agreement between the 2 councils and in line with national, regional and local priorities
  • Monitor the effectiveness of the service, and ensure we take any remedial action required
  • Monitor financial performance and approve budgets
  • Consider and act on internal reviews
  • Approve the service's business plan
  • Ensure reports are produced by the service as requested by the Leader, Chief Executive or Cabinets of either council
  • Modified: May 19, 2016 1:13:20 PM