Sheffield Children’s Book Awards were launched in 1988 to encourage children and young people to read, and to highlight the best literature published each year. The awards celebrate books and what they do for the Sheffield Community. Hundreds of children from across the city take part every year by voting for their favourite book through local schools and libraries. 

Sheffield Children's Book Award overall winner 2017

We are delighted to announce that the overall winner of the Sheffield Children's Book Award 2017 is 'Nibbles the Book Monster' by Emma Yarlett. 

Many of the shortlisted authors and illustrators attended the award ceremony held at the Crucible Theatre.

0-2 years' winner

Hoot's Twilght Adventure by Rowena Blyth

Toddler (2-4 years) winner

The Greedy Goat by Petr Horacek

Picture book (5-7 years) winner

Nibbles the Book Monster by Emma Yarlett

Emerging reads' winner

The Pumpkin Project by Katie Smith

Shorter reads (9-11 years) winner

Beetle Boy by M G Leonard

Longer novels (11-13 years) winner

Moth Girls by Ann Cassidy

Young adult (14+ years) winner

The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander

Special category - Independent Publishers for younger children winner

The Bean Machine - Adam Bestwick

Previous winners

  • 2016 - Uncle Gobb and the Dread Shed by Michael Rosen
  • 2015 - A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson
  • 2014 - Icky Sticky Monster by Jo Lodge
  • 2013 - Fish Food by Andy Mansfield & Henning Lohlein
  • 2012 - Lulu’s Lunch by Camilla Reid
  • 2011 - Noisy Peekaboo! Roar! Roar! by Dorling Kindersley
  • 2010 - My Giant Fold Out Book of Animals published by Priddy Books
  • 2009 - You’re Not So Scary, Sid! by Sam Lloyd published by Templar
  • 2008 - Noisy Animals, Words by Felicity Brooks